Posted on December 21, 2022

Drone shot of Foust Building surrounded by Autumn trees

Please join us in the congratulating the following faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences for winning major state and national awards and other recognition.

Asa eger

Dr. Asa Eger (History) won the G. Ernest Wright Award from the American Society of Overseas Research for his book “Antioch: A History.” This award is given to the author/editor of the most substantial volume(s) dealing with archaeological material, excavation reports and material culture from the ancient Near East and Eastern Mediterranean. This work must be the result of original research published within the past two years. (One award is given annually.)

Alyssa Gabbay

Dr. Alyssa Gabbay’s (Religious Studies) book “Gender and Succession in Medieval and Early Modern Islam: Bilateral Descent and the Legacy of Fatima” (I.B. Tauris/Bloomsbury, 2020) received an Honorable Mention for the Latifeh Yarshater Award from the Association for Iranian Studies. The purpose of the award is to encourage scholarship in Iranian Studies focused on the condition of women in Persian speaking societies and to promote women’s rights in these societies. Gabbay’s book previously received an Honorable Mention for the Southeast Regional Middle East and Islamic Studies Society’s (SERMEISS) Book Prize, awarded for a book of outstanding scholarship in Middle Eastern or Islamic Studies.

dean kiss presenting at podium

Dr. John Z. Kiss (Dean of CAS; Biology professor) was elected one of the vice chairs of COSPAR, the international committee on space research sponsored by the United Nations. The other vice chairs come from Italy, Germany, and China.

Marianne LeGreco

Dr. Marianne LeGreco (Communication Studies) received the 2022 Mid-Career Award from the National Communication Association in the Ethnography Division.

Wade Maki

Professor Wade Maki (Liberal and Professional Studies; Philosophy) was named chair of the UNC System Faculty Assembly from 2022-2024. The Faculty Assembly is an advisory body on System-wide issues, serving the President, the UNC System Office, the Board of Governors, the NC General Assembly, and campus faculty and administrative bodies. Read more.

Joanne Murphy

Dr. Joanne Murphy (Classical Studies) received the 2023 Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award from the Archaeological Institute of America.

Roy Schwartzman

Dr. Roy Schwartzman (Communication Studies) received the 2022 National Communication Association’s Presidential Citation of Service for “extraordinary contributions to the discipline” of communication studies. 

Trending Stories

Contact Us:

Share This